Na h-Eileanan an Iar Property Guide

Welcome to Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Na h-Eileanan an Iar  also known as The Outer Hebrides or Western Isles, sometimes referred to as Na h-Innse Gaill or the Long Island, is an island chain off the west coast of Scotland. They form part of the archipelago of the Hebrides, separated from the mainland and the inner Hebrides by the waters of the Minch, the Little Minch and the Sea of the Hebrides.

Much of the land is under local control and commercial activity is based on tourism, crafting, fishing and weaving.  Vitally a variety of ferry services operate between the islands and the mainland.

The major islands that form the archipelago are Lewis and Harris, North Uist, Benbecula, South Uist and Barra. Lewis in the North and Harris in the south are frequently referred to as individual islands although they are connected by land.

There are 53 Sites of Special scientific Interest and much of the archipelago is a protected habitat.

The largest settlement in the Outer Hebrides is Stornoway on Lewis with a population of around 8,100. There are more than fifty uninhabited islands greater in size than 40 hectares in the Outer Hebrides.


Scottish Property Alerts

To keep up to date with the latest properties from Scotland’s Property Guide, click the link below.

Register with us to create email alerts as soon as properties come to the market, that will make finding your next property with Scotland’s Property Guide a stress-free process.

Latest properties for sale Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Latest properties for rent Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Latest commercial properties Na h-Eileanan an Iar

List Your Properties

Get your agency onto Scotland’s own property portal

Join the many agents already listing their properties on Scotland’s Property Guide